The idea of creating the funicular belonged to engineer A. Abrahamson. Initially the railway was 200 metres long, but after the reconstruction in 1928 it was lengthened by 38 metres. The travel lasts about 3 minutes. In 1984, in the course of general reconstruction, a new pavilion was built at the lower terminal. It looks like a unique composition of big glazed arches. In 1995 a historical diorama was installed in the hall of the upper terminal.